These Are a Few of My Favorite Things: Everlane Petra


Sometimes I can be a real snob… a design snob that is. There is no product I love more than that which is as beautiful as it is functional. Please excuse me while I lovingly stroke my Everlane Petra.


catherinejue_everlanepetra_2

catherinejue_everlanepetra_3

catherinejue_everlanepetra_4


Besides that period in my freshman year when Forever21 was in my list of frequently visited sites, I’ve always been a save and splurge sort of girl. Take sophomore year. By this time I had eradicated all evidence of poly shorts and ripped tights from my closet, so I did as all 16 year olds do with what little savings they accrue: I spent it. I spent those saved dollars on a pair of black Frye Melissa Button boots at a price that makes me wonder how I ever convinced my mom to lend me her credit card. The decision was Frye or Steve Madden; let’s just say I’m glad that choice turned out well.


catherinejue_everlanepetra_5

catherinejue_everlanepetra_6

catherinejue_everlanepetra_7


 It’s hardly surprising, therefore, that my first and only (and perhaps even forever if it buys flowers on my birthday and takes me to dinner at least twice a month) IT bag was the Everlane Petra. Bought mostly in a fit of existential I’m-a-grown-up-not-a-child after yet another stranger mistook me for a high schooler, the Everlane Petra is everything I dreamed $350 could buy me and more. Make no mistake: this is not a Kate Spade. The leather is unbelievably thick yet supple; its construction is impeccable; its size is thoughtful. Its handles actually stay on my shoulders. A couple times my friends have caught me hugging my Petra, but I’ve been trying to keep PDA to a minimum. Boys, take note: this is how you get a girl to love you forever.


catherinejue_everlanepetra_1

catherinejue_everlanepetra_8

7 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I feel this way about my madewell tote. Very similar in structure and look.

  2. I loved your post! I’m thinking about getting a black Petra in the medium size (the “Market”). Do you think it would be too big for work purposes? A few files, a tupperware/water bottle, and a wallet is all I plan to schlep around…

    • Thanks RD! My Magazine holds my laptop (pretty thin), computer charger, large clutch, and headphones (could probably put a water bottle in there too but tupperware might make it bulky) — sounds like you could get away with what I have (Magazine) BUT I kind of wish I had gotten the Market so I could hold the occasional jacket/scarf :)

      • Thanks for responding Catherine! It sounds like with my tupperware, I might have to go with the Market. Originally I wanted to get it in burgundy (one of the new colors that just came out for Fall), but after seeing your pictures and how rich the black color is….I have a feeling I’m going to keep it classy and get black like you did.

    • Xavier F. Martinez September 20, 2016 — 5:29 PM

      It is perfect for work. I bought it as a gift for my sister. Carries all her essentials, including a laptop, water bottle, and gym gear.

  3. The burgundy is definitely gorgeous too, but you can never go wrong with black :)

  4. You’re a humorous writer! I love this!

Leave a Reply

