Seven Coffee Shops and an InstaMeet


In which I drink coffee in the name of San Francisco

catherinejue_sevencoffeeshopsandaninstameet_1

catherinejue_sevencoffeeshopsandaninstameet_2


Where was I while the rest of the nation was painting their faces with Super Bowl warpaint? I am completely ashamed to say that I was not in front of the TV nor in the kitchen heating up crab dip. I know, I know; shame on me from all things American. Send me off to Canada where I can further shame myself for not knowing the rules of hockey. I admit it — I had all of this coming.

If I wasn’t eating potato skins and bothering everyone in hearing distance with my lack of pigskin comprehension, where was I? Checking out coffee shop corners with the efficiency of an In-N-Out cashier, that’s where. In truth, the extent of my coffee knowledge ends where ChemExs begin (aren’t those for chemistry?), so my coffee ineptitude was lessened by the veritable @senaponin, who, despite being a non-coffee drinker like myself, knows coffee shops in San Francisco like the back of his hand. We did it for the ambiance and house made almond milk.


catherinejue_sevencoffeeshopsandaninstameet_3

catherinejue_sevencoffeeshopsandaninstameet_4

catherinejue_sevencoffeeshopsandaninstameet_5

catherinejue_sevencoffeeshopsandaninstameet_6

catherinejue_sevencoffeeshopsandaninstameet_7


For the record, though, I made it to the game in time to see Katy’s wide eyed screeching and that miracle catch by the blue team. I also ordered two cappuccinos and a drip coffee across our seven stop coffee crawl. Buzzing, in every sense of the word.

Such is the case with Saint Frank Coffee, a Russian Hill spot positively buzzing with its energy. Despite this being our second to last stop (and by which time I was rather *cap’d* out), Saint Frank’s minimalist yet warm aesthetic, well-tempered and inviting baristas, and lively clientele (with post-brunchers and workhorses alike) were awe inducing. The under bar espresso machines is genius, and the house made almond milk in their macadamia almond cappuccino is buttery smooth (though I can’t comment on the coffee itself, I hear it’s top notch). The space is pointed, thoughtful, and yet a perfectly blank canvas that can become anything you want it to be. I was inspired. It is inspiring. There are some experiences worth missing the Big Game for, and Saint Frank Coffee is one of them.


catherinejue_sevencoffeeshopsandaninstameet_9

catherinejue_sevencoffeeshopsandaninstameet_8

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Like your Blog a lot. Hope to see more

Leave a Reply

