2014 in Review


 For all Facebook is good, great, and even exceptional at (namely turning 1.23 billion average joes into classified stalkers), the social media giant falls short when it comes to candid moments. This I realized when I tried out its latest “2014 in Review.” It’s great idea for the few users who actually post regularly rather than simply hit refresh during a slow day at work, but for normal people like myself? There’s was a lot of 2014 missing, for one thing, and many random moments I would hardly even consider a “moment,” much less one that defined my year. I guess that’s why studies show that my generation is leaving Facebook for Snapchat by the masses.

Here’s the thing, though: the very thrill of snapping your friends, i.e., Snapchat’s self-destructiveness, may be able to capture quick moments, but it’s no good if you have a mother who needs copies of all your photos forwarded to her for printing (mine’s a scrapbook-er). There are also the times that I “need” to stalk my friend whose birthday card requires no less than ten pictures from our past four years of knowing each other. It’s true; Facebook profiles may not be an accurate representation of a person (mind this when you feel social media induced depression), but it often preserves that one inconsequential photo in which you rocked crossed eyes, double chins, and pig noses with your friends. Keep it around, I say; it’ll be perfect fodder for a birthday card in three years.

So here’s my own 2014 in review, which includes moments in the blog, moments not in the blog, moments Facebook captured, and moments found only in my phone’s photo roll (images link to their corresponding blog archives).


2014_In_Review_1

2014_In_Review_2

2014_In_Review_3

2014_In_Review_4

2014_In_Review_5

2014_In_Review_6

2014_In_Review_7

2014_In_Review_8

Leave a Reply

