Taming Your Internet Usage


I have recently been feeling overwhelmed by all the content on the Internet that is constantly getting pushed to my newsfeed, RSS feed, and email box. In the case of my RSS reader, what started out as a way to keep up with interesting news has become a huge chore, as I have to sift through all the articles in order to choose which to read. The fact that my RSS is already a curated version of the web is a daunting thought! I am constantly struggling to find a balance between staying abreast in the news and not devoting too much time to passively absorbing (and forgetting), and this exhaustion from Internet consumption seems to be a never ending a cycle that I can’t escape. I would love to hear your thoughts on the matter: do you have a system for keeping this information consumption under control? Perhaps I should set time/content limits so I don’t get carried away, or maybe I should simply do a better job of curating what I subscribe to?


(photo from: Despina Moisiadou)

Leave a Reply

