A First Dinner Party


I managed to squeeze in a little kitchen time in between all of the essays and exams I’ve had over the past couple of weeks and put my newfound cooking skills to the test! My family line in my business fraternity came over the other evening and I showed off my best dicing and searing :)

On the menu: steak, mashed potatoes, sauteed asparagus, and fried rice. One indicator of my amateur cooking skills: I have no sense of portion sizes! I cooked all five pounds of potatoes in fear of the guys eating everything and still being hungry. Needless to say, there were huge plates of leftovers that I sent back with the kids to eat in the dorms.


14436517103_8b3f7d2a65_o

14410944681_7d102cf43f_o


The kitchen was a little cramped once my family came but I set my littles and grand little to work mashing the potatoes at the dining room table. Who knew they could make mashing potatoes so cute?!


Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset


Also, check out our kitchen mat that my roommate bought for our apartment– her sense of humor gets me every time, haha.


Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset


It was such a fun evening! I loved how simple and genuine it was to cook with my friends instead of going out to a busy and distracting restaurant. I can’t wait to continue developing my culinary skills so I can host more get togethers.


Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset

Leave a Reply

